London 2014: Federer Withdrawal Hands Djokovic 4th World Tour Finals Title

ChrysanthemumA day after two thrilling Semi-Finals, the ATP World Tour Finals ended in a rather disappointing and subdued atmosphere, as Roger Federer withdrew before the final with a back injury. This gave his opponent Novak Djokovic a 3rd successive World Tour Finals Crown and a 4th overall title. Djokovic becomes the first player since Ivan Lendl from 1985-87, to win 3 titles in a row. It seemed that after Federer’s near 3 hour 3 set epic with compatriot Stan Wawrinka, he aggravated a back problem which has crept up sometimes over his career. Roger was seen grimacing with pain and discomfort in the deciding set in his match with Wawrinka and the 33 year old decided that he was in no fit state or condition to battle with the Serbian Ironman. Federer came out to address the O2 crowd and in his own words explained that: “I’m not match fit “I’m sorry I’m not fit to play. I hope you understand. I wanted to come out personally and explain. I did everything I could. I took pain-killers, had rest until the very end, but I just cannot compete at this level with Novak. At my age it would’ve been a risk. It’s not that much of a surprise. This back spasm, whatever it might be, it’s just not a fun thing to have during the day. It’s just uncomfortable. But I’m positive and I’m hopeful that it’s going to go away soon.” (Eurosport.yahoo- Tennis article). So for the 3rd year in a row, the last man standing is World No.1 Novak Djokovic, who picks up a check for $1.92  million dollars and extends his unbeaten run at the event to 15 straight wins.

 

World Tennis News:

  1. The Bryan Brothers win Doubles Crown for the 4th time, with victory over Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo- Sun 16th Nov
  2. Rafael Nadal to return in early 2015, in time for Australian Open.  Wed 19th Nov

Leave a comment